<< Back to Live Chennai

Anna University

Anna University

Full Description

The Office of the Director, Academic Courses was established to administer all academic matters of the
University Departments and affiliated engineering colleges coming under Anna University Chennai. This office
is responsible for organizing meetings of all Academic bodies such as Syllabus Committees, Boards of Studies,
Standing Committees, Academic Council, preparing lesson plans, model question papers and the academic
schedule for all the U.G. and P.G. programmes. This office also periodically revises the U.G. & P.G. Regulations,
Curriculla and Syllabi of all branches of Engineering, Technology, Applied Sciences and Humanities


Anna University was established on 4th September 1978 as a unitary type of University. It offers higher education in Engineering, Technology and Applied Sciences. In a short span of time the University has reached high standards in higher education to enjoy world-wide recognition in Engineering, Technology and Applied Sciences. Considering its excellent growth the Government of Tamil Nadu

1858 Survey school was upgraded to Civil Engineering school

1859 School was renamed as Civil Engineering College with Lt.G. Winscom as the First Principal

1862 The Civil Engineering College was raised to the status of an Engineering College

1864 Graduation of first batch of B.C.E. students

1894 First institution in india to start Mechanical Engineering College

1920 College was shifted to its present campus in Guindy

1932 First institution to introduce B.E. Electrical Engineering Degree

1935 Introdution to Research Degree in Engineeering

1944 Establishment of Alagappa College of Technology

1945 First institution to start Telecommunication and Highway Engineering

1949 Establishment of Madras Institute of Technology

1957 First institution to introduce Architecture ad Planning

1970 Post graduation in Applied Electronics

1971 Post graduation in Aircraft Structural Mechanics

1978 Establishment of Anna University as a technological university of unitary type

1981 First institution in Asia to start a Post Graduate programme in Medical Physics

1982 Establishment of Institute of Remote Sensing

1983 First Institution to start B.E in printing Technology

1992 First institution to start B.E. in Geo-Informates

1992 First institution in india to start M.Tech in Petroleum Refinig and Petrochemicals

2001 First institution in india to start Post graduate in Electronic Media

2001 Anna university becomes affiliating type technological university. Introduction of Distributed
System of Single Window Admission to Engineering Colleges

2004 India’s First Community Radio Anna Fm 90.4 MHz; First university to offer
Interactive Satellite based Education affiliated colleges

2005 Centre for Empowerment of Women

2005 Providing State level placement Service

2005 Providing Group Health Insurance facilities to all students

2005 Providing professional, communication and soft skill training to all the engineering students

2006 First Institution in India to start B.E in Material Science and Engineering

2006 First Institution in India to start B.E in Agriculture and Irrigation Engineering

2006 First Institution in India to start M.E in Integrated Water Resource Management exclusively for women

2007 Only the colleges situated in the districts of Chennai,Thiruvallur, Kanchipuram, Vellore, Thiruvannamalai,
and Villupuram in Tamil Nadu have been affiliated to Anna University Chennai.


About the Centre and its activitiesThe Centre for Affiliation of Institutions (CAI) is an autonomous Centre of Anna University, its primary function being to facilitate granting of affiliation and to process other allied matters pertaining to the Engineering colleges in Tamil Nadu encompassing Chennai (Head Quarters) and regions Tiruchirappalli, Coimbatore, Madurai and Tirunelveli.Administration of the Centre
The administrative activities of the Centre are monitored and regulated by an Executive Committee whose members are nominated by the University. The Vice-Chancellor, Anna University Chennai is the Chairman of the Executive Committee. The Centre is headed by a Director assisted by Deputy Directors, administrative and other supporting staff.Objectives of the Centre
Enabling the Engineering colleges under its jurisdiction to achieve academic excellence by guiding them to equip themselves with qualified faculty and state of the art infrastructure so as to produce competent engineers to meet the local and global requirements.


Director, Centre for Nanoscience and Technology,

Anna University, Chennai – 600 025 India

DR.Premalatha Rajan













Leave a Reply